By Tjitte de Werd at April 27 2019 05:48:29
Make Sure You Have A Business Plan. The first point to keep in mind about business plans is... have a business plan! This may seem obvious but is overlooked. Many people start businesses without a plan; sometimes it can come from sheer bravado, thinking "I don't need a plan", or alternatively you might hear "It's all inside my head, that's my business plan". The reality is no matter how much you work with things in your head, no matter how confident you may be and how much you think you already have a great vision for your business, there are so many great reasons why you should get it down on paper.
There is quite a bit of calculations and you should know a little about business principles but it isn't that complicated. So first let's look at figuring out your future needed sales with this formula: Projected sales = fixed expenses divided by Ƒ_(var exp % of existing sales + mat cost % of existing sales + lab cost % of existing sales + desired net prof %)) So, let's say you existing sales is 迲ꯠ annually, your fixed expenses are 足ꯠ, variable expenses is ็ꯠ or 6Ǒ% of the 迲ꯠ, material cost is 趌ꯠ or 27ǔ%, labor cost is 贍ꯠ or 12ǔ%, and your existing profit margin is 赏ꯠ or 20ǒ%. Now let's say next year you want to have a profit margin of 25% so what would your sales need to be to give you that profit margin? Now you might think you would simply tack on 4ǐ% more to sales ྐྵ% _ 20ǒ%) and you would have it. Well not quiet. it doesn't work that way because you are going to have the additional variable expenses, material cost, and labor cost too. Remember, the more sales the more each of these expenses and cost will be.
It could be, for example, the risk of a change in the economic environment _ what are your contingency plans for that in terms of dealing with such a situation? There may be many other risks as well specific to your particular sphere of operation, but that ability to plan ahead for all scenarios makes for a robust business plan. When I have received business plans, the very best responses come from people who have looked at the risks and have an answer for every question. What you never want is to throw a scenario at your plan and have to answer "I don't know what I would do in that situation". You want to plan for every possible contingency, and certainly all the major risks to the ongoing success of your business.
Let's say your average selling price for your service is 逽ሪ and you have one transaction per year per customer. Using that first years sales example we used above, you would calculate it this way. 造같 divided by 逽ሪ = 968 customers needed for the year. Now if your average transactions per customer are more than 1, then you would need fewer customers. As an example, let's say your average transaction per customers per year is 2Ǒ then 968 divided by 2Ǒ = 387 customers per year.