By Lika Ramlal at April 17 2019 11:08:46
It may be easier than you think to figure this out. You would do some research and with the aid of the U.S. Census Bureau you can roughly determine whether your plan can be supported by your market or not. So what do you think? Is it better to build a business plan around what you want in life then see how your business can maybe give you that or is it better to use a sample business plan for a small business where you are probably guessing?
Be Prepared For Risks _ It is a fact of life that any new business or enterprise has a degree of risk attached to it. Therefore it is important for your business plan to analyse and calculate that risk, showing how you will engage with it. There is no business plan out there that is risk_free, but very often where the risk is higher then the rewards will be as well.
There is quite a bit of calculations and you should know a little about business principles but it isn't that complicated. So first let's look at figuring out your future needed sales with this formula: Projected sales = fixed expenses divided by Ƒ_(var exp % of existing sales + mat cost % of existing sales + lab cost % of existing sales + desired net prof %)) So, let's say you existing sales is 迲ꯠ annually, your fixed expenses are 足ꯠ, variable expenses is ็ꯠ or 6Ǒ% of the 迲ꯠ, material cost is 趌ꯠ or 27ǔ%, labor cost is 贍ꯠ or 12ǔ%, and your existing profit margin is 赏ꯠ or 20ǒ%. Now let's say next year you want to have a profit margin of 25% so what would your sales need to be to give you that profit margin? Now you might think you would simply tack on 4ǐ% more to sales ྐྵ% _ 20ǒ%) and you would have it. Well not quiet. it doesn't work that way because you are going to have the additional variable expenses, material cost, and labor cost too. Remember, the more sales the more each of these expenses and cost will be.
Let's say your average selling price for your service is 逽ሪ and you have one transaction per year per customer. Using that first years sales example we used above, you would calculate it this way. 造같 divided by 逽ሪ = 968 customers needed for the year. Now if your average transactions per customer are more than 1, then you would need fewer customers. As an example, let's say your average transaction per customers per year is 2Ǒ then 968 divided by 2Ǒ = 387 customers per year.